Back in The Sewing Room

i have been away from my blog for quite a while.  So much has happened here, and while I keep thinking about writing, and am alway taking photos with this in mind, the fingers have not been connecting to the blog writing.  I guess that now is the best time to begin, so here goes.

I am on a mission to begin clearing up my list of UFO’s. To non-quilters, that translates as un-finished objects ( of the fabric kind). I when through my boxes and added them up…….. 55, not counting the one that I decided I will NEVER do, as I just don’t like it.

I also have quite a few Craftsy classes that have been waiting for me, and I am plunging into them as well. Worked through Anne Petersons Free Motion Quilting class, and now am on one with Kimmie Brunner on using rulers to create designs.  I had to play electrician on my Bailey and changed out the off- on switch for one that you hold on and it quits stitching as soon as you let go.  I was getting knots at my points, and now it is much better.  This is a bit of what I have been doing…….. Not perfect by a long shot, but after not using my quilting machine for two years, I’m a bit rusty. 

You can see the knots in it.  I’ve been working on its using circles and ovals as well, and am amazed at what you can do.

I did finish a table topper that was only 2 years old, which just needed quilting. 

 

I have been working on the Block of the Month that the Norwegian guild was doing, and have the block all made, including a jumbo paper-pieced medallion star. Now, I just have to figure out a layout.  The colours are red, blue and white, and all fabrics have snowflakes on them…….I was cold in Norway after 5 years in the Middle Eastern sun. 

 

One last one -almost the first paper-piecing I did……. A mystery in 2002. It was waiting a long time, but I finally got “around to it”. 

 

Time here has been busy, with yoga and tai chi classes, joining a mahjong group, and finding several different quilting circles to belong to. I have also bee lucky to have my son and granddaughter here most weekends since Christmas.

I promise to get busy sorting out my photos and begin showing you what an interesting place I have found myself in this time.  Hopefully, for a long time as well. 

This entry was posted in Into Eastern Russia. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Back in The Sewing Room

  1. Karen Julian says:

    Good to see you blogging again. I was wondering if you were going to keep this up. Glad to have you back home in Canada!

    • Thanks, Karen. I keep thinking of it while taking photos, but have not spent a lot of time on the computer. Finding that they have made the WordPress app much easier to use, so hopefully that will help me do it more spontaneously. Most of my photos are on my phone these days.

  2. Sara says:

    It is really good to see you making a start on all those UFOs Kathi, you are going to have such fun with them all. And the one you don’t like any more? take it along to one of your guild meetings, someone will give it a good home. Keep posting the photos and progress reports, I love to see it all.

  3. Dolores says:

    That’s quite a few UFOs. Good luck in finishing them.

  4. Evelyn Julian says:

    I thought I had a lot of UFO’s and boxes of fabric. Have just purged my sewing room and re-organized it. Your quilts are beautiful – love the “round to it”.

  5. Janice Orr says:

    Kathi: I’m not back to quilting – yet. But love to be inspired and will soak in everything you have to offer. So, thank you for opening up to us again. I love your blogs.

  6. Marsha says:

    I am so happy to see you are blogging again Kathi, I enjoy reading about your life and quilting journey. I did up a UFO list a couple of months ago and was finally able to start crossing a few things off it, did that ever feel good. But I also decided there were things I didn’t love enough to spend time on and let them go…. now that was freeing! On your list are there things like that too?

  7. Lori says:

    I, too, am happy to be reading your blog again!! Your projects are wonderful! I need to create a Round Tuit too!

  8. dJanice Steffek says:

    I’m new to your blog, but i am already hooked. i am also glad that i am not the only one with a
    “few” ufo’s {maybe 25?}

  9. Missing your blogs.. from India..
    Wishing you good health and spirit to blog a little more frequently..

Leave a Reply

