Finished…..

OK – only the applique, not a whole quilt top.

But I began this hand applique project while I was still in Oman, and needed something to take with me when we went back to Canada for summer holidays….. that makes it about June 2011.

Nine blocks – many pieces.  I prepared them, and have been working on them since then.  Not always, and even when travelling, sometimes I have been reading instead of sewing.  

They became my hand project for crafty-friends get-togethers in both Norway and now here in Sakhalin.  And now, they have finally been completed.

Here is the last leaf to go on…IMG_7630

 

And the whole nine blocks, set out in order.P1080292

 

I already have some of the piecing done for the sashing, so hopefully soon I will be showing you a completed top.

Until then – here is the photo in the magazine.P1080296

So excited to be this close to having it done.

This entry was posted in Into Eastern Russia, Quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Finished…..

  1. Connie says:

    Hi Kathi,
    Your blocks are beautiful!! You know I’m not one for hand work but we are planning an RV trip to the Yukon and Alaska this summer and I had been thinking of maybe trying to do some applique. I know you did a post about the type of applique you used for these blokes which I thought looked really interesting. Do you remember which one it was?

  2. Cecilia magor says:

    Love the pattern! You are so good at appliqué…. Looking absolutely beautiful, your fabric choice is gorgeous too, love ,love, love it!

  3. Thanks, Cecilia. I am really happy with it. Now to get it put together.

  4. Evelyn in SW Ontario says:

    Isn’t it such a great feeling to see it all coming together. It’s going to be beautiful. I love to applique but haven’t done any for a while – must get back to it.

  5. Lori says:

    Kathi – it is gorgeous! You have done a lovely job – can’t wait to see the completed quilt!!

  6. hanne says:

    That is beautiful, Kathi!

Leave a Reply

