The Great Canadian Clean-up Challenge

Several of the online groups that I belong to have issued a challenge to all members – let’s clean up our sewing rooms so we can sew up a storm this year.

P1070811

Guess I needed to accept and get busy, eh?

I might have ignored it, and relegated the clean-up to a later date, but I have a pressing need to be able to find both my sewing machineP1070808

and my cutting board.P1070807

I have enlarged my sketch for my value study quilt, an assignment from lesson 1 of my Dyeing To Design online class –P1070822

and transferred the lines to the back, to create a negative.P1070823

I will applique this quilt from the back, like in reverse applique.  I want to use this technique in a few different projects, and this design is simple enough for it to be a good practice piece.

So, after I got home from the school this afternoon, I bit the bullet, so to speak.  I had hauled two large chest out into the spare room the other day, which at least gave me a bit of room to move.

When I finally quilt this is how it looked.P1070821

and this.P1070814 P1070815

I was able to cut the background fabric for my value quilt.

The drawers haven’t been sorted and organized yet, but at least the top is done.  My fat quarters are where I can find them, my projects are close at hand, the space is open to move the glass-front cabinet so I will have room to set up my quilting frame in a few weeks.  I know that then a few more things will have to leave – like the ironing board into the hallway, if I need to do some sewing.

At least it’s a start. And I feel so much better. It is so unsettling to have a messy sewing room.

This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Great Canadian Clean-up Challenge

  1. Cecilia magor says:

    Excellent job Kathy! Cutting area ,tick, sewing area, tick, pressing area, tick….happy quilting times ahead 👍

  2. Sue says:

    Looking good!!! Waiting to see what you produce now that you have the space. . . happy quilting ahead.

  3. Love it – great job!!!!

  4. Evelyn in SW Ontario says:

    Well done, Kathi – you put me to shame with the speed you were able to get your sewing room organized. I keep promising myself that as soon as I finish my current project I’ll take time to clean up!

  5. Emmely says:

    I am impressed (and jeaslous a the amount of storage sapce you seem to have). I find it so difficult to keep my room organized when I’m working on projects.

    • I’m a bit of a play-and-then-clean-up gal myself, so I have a really hard time keeping things organized. So mostly I clean when I have no room to work. I would like to change that, but…..

  6. Debbie says:

    Way to go Kathi, I only got the cutting table cleaned off, although I had kept my sewing machine area clean and my frame is up…If I don’t turn my head too much when I am in any of those areas, then it looks clean LOL…but turn and you see most of the stuff that was on those areas. Oh well, I can work now!

  7. Sartenada says:

    Great. My wife watched these photos and she liked. She started quilting again this year after beading.

    Every year we visit quilt shows in Finland. Here are some examples from those shows:

    Finnish quilts.

    Happy quilting!

Leave a Reply

