Another Brain Teaser

As if I didn’t have enough irons in the fire, I have decided that I need to learn how to type……. in Russian.

I bought a Russian keyboard for my laptop so that if I need to put some Russian words into Google translate, I don’t have to do it on my phone.  There are 33 letters in the Russian alphabet, and they are all over the place.  Even the few that look like English letters are in different spots.

I googled “Russian Typing Online” and came up with “www.keybr.com”.  you can learn to type here in several different languages and fortunately, Russian is one of them.

The keyboard looks like this when you are typing – the black letters mean I haven’t made any mistakes this time.Image

 

and this when you have finished an exercise.Image

The two numbers above the test are your speed, and number of errors in this session.  I know, 14 words per minute isn’t much to brag about – but I have had it up to 20, and I’m only on the middle row of the keys, as of yet.  and my errors have been a lot higher than 1.

My worst letter so far is “A”.    In the photo, the red X marks the spot on the Russian keyboard, where we usually find the “F”.  I’m ok when I’m really concentrating – but go on autopilot for a split second, and a red mark comes up.

The other problem is remembering to say the correct Russian sounds with the letters – what looks like a “P”, for example, is actually pronounced “R”, and “B” is said like a “V”.

I only began yesterday though, and am happy with my progress.  Soon, I may be able to type out my little Russian compositions, instead of writing them all our by hand.

And just think of all the exercise my brain will be getting.

 

 

This entry was posted in Into Eastern Russia, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Brain Teaser

  1. I’m very impressed. I know people that can’t do 14 words per minute in English and its their native tongue and all they have ever typed in! Well done, they say Russian is a difficult language to learn too ….

  2. Lori says:

    It says you are doing well. Good on you for taking this on!

  3. Sue says:

    14 words per minute with only one mistake is awesome!!! Keep going.

Leave a Reply

