A Little Sewing

With David at work most of the weekend, I took the opportunity to get busy in my sewing room.  I have been working on that mystery quilt, and finally have the flimsy done.  I would have made larger borders if I had a bit more of the green print fabric, but…… when you do a mystery from stash fabrics, you can’t always know.

I had a bit of problem with the half-square triangles stretching, as they were done with the method where you sew two squares together and then cut across diagonally twice to make four small triangle blocks.  In the end, because I knew that my small units had been the correct size, I made my borders the size they should have measured, and will square the quilt on the frame when I am quilting it, thereby quilting in the excess.  I don’t think I will use that method again.

Anyway, here is a photo of the top, draped over my ironing board.  I plan to use it as a Christmas table cloth.  Who knows, I might add a bit of applique in the borders.P1060888

And a better look at what the fabrics look like. I’ve had a real problem getting photos that show the true colours of these fabrics.P1060886

Today, I decided to work on another mystery quilt – this one is a Craftsy class. I picked it in the spring, because I wanted to use some of my wonky polka dot fabrics. I love the colours.IMG_6701

and think it will be a really fun quilt.

I have tons of projects to work on before I get my quilting frame and machine assembled and fired up.  I’m looking forward to doing the quilting too, but right now, I’m having fun, just playing with my amazing fabrics.

This entry was posted in Norway - the New Adventure, Quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Little Sewing

  1. Sartenada says:

    I love the first photo. It is fantastic beautiful quilt!

    • Thanks, Matti. I’m quite happy with it. I’ve discovered that the block is called Scrap Bag. I like the secondary pattern it creates. I think it would be fun to do scrappy, with a variety of lights and darks.

  2. Brenda says:

    I envy you the time to quilt. Soon it will be time for me to start again. Keep posting those quilt pics– so inspiring!!!

Leave a Reply

