Checking in – Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk At Last.

This has been a crazy two weeks.  So many changes since I left Yuzhno – and more to come.  Between jet lag, a cold, and very spotty internet service, this blog has been close to my mind and heart, but very far away from my fingers, I’m afraid.

I arrived back on a very sunny Saturday morning.  I was exhausted, but it was too nice a day to stay inside.  While I’ve been gone, David has been exploring the paths and walk ways close to home……P1060403I must say it sure looks different than it did with 4 feet of snow.Photo 2013-03-14 9 17 33 AM

I am amazed by the growth here…… so many plants – so tall – so green. I don’t think I have ever seen so many different plants with huge leaves.IMG_6245Many that I recognize Photo 2013-06-24 7 42 21 AMand still more that I don’t.  P1060402David said that it really hasn’t rained here that much, and he can’t see how things can be so lush.  I think the soil has a high clay content, so the humidity and misty weather help to keep things going.IMG_6256

In Norway, I took countless photos of the stream in Sandved Park.  There is one here in Gagarin park too –IMG_6255

And a lake as well –IMG_6231

Things here are not always in the best repair, but they are sure kept clean.  The paths in the park are swept every morning –P1060399

As well as trying to get resettled here, we have been busy arranging a move into a townhouse the beginning of July – now that our sea freight has arrived.  I had a walk through last week, and I’ve been wondering ever since how it will all fit in.  Only one spare room here, although I’m sure I can rearrange my sewing room to accommodate a mattress for extra guests.  Moving date is next Wednesday, so I guess I will see then how it will work.

The new house will be far from my beloved park, but quite close to lots of other Expats.  It will be good to have people to talk to and to do things with.  And I understand that there are lots of walking paths close by as well – and a hiking group to boot.

I have been trying to get some quilting done.  I have three of my nine applique blocks done, and three more with only a bit left to do.P1060406

And machine – a new mystery quilt from Craftsy.  I couldn’t resist a chance to use some of my wonderful wonky polka dots.P1060405

Every day I marvel at the new plants I see, and vow to look them up online when I get home……. Haven’t done it yet… maybe RIGHT NOW!IMG_6275

This entry was posted in Into Eastern Russia and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Checking in – Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk At Last.

  1. Cecilia magor says:

    I’m sure that you’re over the moon being reunited with Dave and Snoopy all in one country! Love your appliqué, I can appreciate the skill now that I know how tricky those pionts are to get done !
    We have now seen our furniture sold and gone… Exodus has started … Packers coming on the 23rd July, Phil, Leo and I will leave on the 24 th ..home sweet home in South Wales 😍looking forward to being reunited with Gwyneth !xx

  2. Evelyn in SW Ontario says:

    Glad to see you have arrived safely. As always, I’ll be looking forward to discovering more about where you are living as you do. Hope all goes well with your moving in.

  3. Lori says:

    Glad you are there safe and sound – I was getting a bit concerned. Good luck with the move on Wednesday and I look forward to learning more about your new home.

Leave a Reply

