An Interesting Day

Today was the day that the packers were supposedly coming…… although I knew that it was impossible.  The directive was coming from Texas on Friday to Poland, where it was already late Friday, to Norway….. where it was too close to the weekend and the end of the month to be able to produce packers out of a hat.  Still, I was up early, trying to sort out the piles and put them in their places, just in case.

When I hadn’t heard anything by 10:30, I headed into Stavanger to see a private showing of “Anna Karenina”.  I have only read half of the book, so I didn’t know the story, although I did at least know who the characters were.  As there seem to be quite a few, I thought that should stand me in good stead.  And I should see a few friends, possibly for the last time.

As I left the parking garage, my phone rang – and it was the moving coordinator.  Would it be OK to begin packing on Wednesday. I tried hard not to jump and shout and dance down the street as I told him it would be just fine.  I’ve been waiting so long for this moment!

To my mind, “Anna Karenina” is a must see. Set in Russia (Moscow and St. Petersburg) in the late 1800’s, it is a larger-than-life kind of story – classic and complicated, depicting Russian aristocracy in the Tzarist period, and timeless personalities and complications.  The staging is most unique – I won’t tell you about it, as that would spoil it.  I though it was perfect.  A wonderful way to spend two hours on a chilly Monday.

When I got back into the open air, I checked my phone, and saw another message from the Moving coordinator….. all systems go. Yes!

On my way home, I stopped for lunch, knowing that the delay would land me in the interminable Stavanger area afternoon  traffic jams.  It was worth it….. every minute of it.  Matsalen in Forus – Fiskesoupe (fish soup, if you hadn’t guessed, but you have to remember to pronounce the e’s or the won’t understand what you want). Photo 2013-02-25 2 41 36 PMThe recipe changes slightly from place to place, but it is always wonderful.  Full of fish and shrimp, blue mussels, course brown bread sliced really thin, and a variety of vegetables, it is so creamy and full of flavour. I’m really going to miss my fiska soupa when I’m gone.

Stuffed, I crawled along the highways back home, and began getting things lined up for Wednesday.  I have two friends coming tomorrow to sew and knit together (why am I just finding people to sit and craft with when I’m about to leave???), so I have to be a bit more organized.

Tonight’s walk with Snoopy was brisk and wonderful.  The moon is large and so round that it must be full.  My old friend, the grey heron, was standing in the duck pond, and it was so still that his reflection was perfect. The moonlight muted the amber light of the street lamps, making the effect particularly lovely. He wasn’t the least bit worried about us walking by, so I got to enjoy the view, although he is beautiful in flight as well.

That’s it for the day – a bit of stew and early to bed.  And I really am going to Russia – I was beginning to wonder if it would ever happen.

This entry was posted in Norway - the New Adventure and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to An Interesting Day

  1. Cecilia magor says:

    Great news Kathi, seeing the light at the end of the tunnel is priceless ! Congrats ! Xx

  2. Jo says:

    Good luck with the packers and your new life in Russia, I hope we meet again as you have been an inspiration for me and wish we could have had more time together. Keep in touch and there will always be a bed in my home for you should you ever need one.

    • Thanks, Jo. You and your “get the job done” attitude inspire me more than you realize. I’m really glad we had at least the short time in Muscat, and look forward to keeping in touch, and hopefully visiting again face to face. Good luck with your move. See you on Skype.

  3. Sue says:

    This is wonderful news. I am so happy for you that the wait is finally coming to an end and you and David can get on with the next phase of your adventure. Happy DAy. You will be in my thoughts as Wednesday unfolds.

Leave a Reply

