The Quilt That Didn’t Want To Be Quilted

I’ve decided that this top just doesn’t want to be quilted…. at least not yet.

This quilt top was the product of the Muscat Quilt Group’s mystery project while was there.  I finished it in time, and was all set to quilt it when the movers came and packed up my machine and frame……. and then we lived among the boxes for four months.DSCN0014

When I got my sewing room set up last year in Norway, I put it up on the design wall.  I would whisper to it – and it would tell me what it needed. Dead silence!

Finally I needed the wall for something else, so took it down to the frame. I would set it up, and stabilize the borders to keep it square……. with this intimate interaction, surely I would discover what it needed, or at least have some ideas.IMG_5637

Took a while, but I finally got it started.  Working with my ruler after a long absence, using a fine thread on a fairly plain background……….   Some good feathers, but some tension problems on the back.2013-02-16 22.30.15 I must have stretched the backing a bit too, as the front was a bit wrinkly. The imperfection of my straight lines was too glaring, so off it came and out came the stitches.Photo 2013-02-10 8 12 52 PM

Darker thread, straighter lines, careful attention to the tension of both backing and quilt top.  Lines much straighter, feathers in the corners, Photo 2013-02-23 8 05 38 PMideas working for stippling on the top….. Photo 2013-02-23 8 05 46 PMI even used the ruler to make an interweaving diamond design in the outer border.  Tension working well……….Photo 2013-02-23 8 04 28 PMwrinkles in the backing!Photo 2013-02-23 8 04 54 PM

Off the frame came this quilt again……. and as the packers should be here very soon now, I dismantled the frame, taking the quilt upstairs to unsew in front of the fireplace.

When I finally get into my new home and have my quilt machine and frame set up again, I will try to talk some sense into this quilt top.  Until then, I guess it is still a mystery.

This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Quilt That Didn’t Want To Be Quilted

  1. Brenda Fritzler says:

    Love it. So impressed with your abilities. I seem to keep adding to my UFOS and finishing nothing.Next time you visit, better give me a stern speech.

  2. Evelyn says:

    I know how you feel, Kathi – I hate it when quilts won’t tell you what they want! Good for you to at least get a start on it. I’ve way too many tops waiting to converse with me.

    • I’m beginning to think that either they are obstinately mute or I’m just deaf. Going to be a while before I can even think about getting at my stack of tops now though. Maybe their tongues will be loosened then. LOL

  3. Beris Lyons says:

    Hi Kathi .. it will get done!! I’m sure of it – I certainly love the colours you chose – very eye catching. Keep up the good work.

    • Thanks Beris. I got all the fabrics but the dark red on my first shopping trip in Muscat with Sarah Brooks’ help. Hadn’t picked fabrics before I moved. Slim pickings after Kuwait but still the same kind of shopping.

  4. Beris Lyons says:

    BTW – your quilting looks great!!

  5. Sue says:

    Love the quilt. Maybe Russia will be an inspiration for it to Whisper to you. . . NOW. . . the lecture. . . This (school) year was supposed to be the year to clean up UFO’s for me. I did 2, one more is sandwiched and I think it was waiting for the new Bernina, because it wouldnt be quilted on the old machine. . . I found 2 more yesterday while straightening my stash. . . along with 3 bundles of fabrics that are waiting to be inspired (does this count as a UFO?) I can only tell you that it feels SO GOOD to finally finish. I have also started 4 more and finished 2 of them. . . again a GREAT feeling. The HIGH is worth the determination!!!

  6. Hope says:

    i do like it

  7. damnvan1 says:

    Love the quilt love the blog. Keep up the good work on both fronts!

Leave a Reply

