Mistaken For A Native..

Native Norwegian, that is.

A young Norwegian with red hair spiked up into a point paid me the supreme compliment today.  I ordered my lunch in carefully rehearsed Norwegian, and, when I didn’t understand that he said that coffee was included in the meal, and broke into English, he apologized profusely, saying he really didn’t realize that I wouldn’t understand.

I ordered a small dish of Komla (koh mla), which is traditional Norwegian workers fare…… boiled dumplings (raspeballer) made of grated potato and flour, various meats, salted usually, some sort of hot dog or sausage, yellow turnip, and chopped bacon in melted butter. The precise make up of the dish is dependent upon the region you are in. It’s not diet food, to be sure, but something that fills and sticks to your ribs while you work in the fields or on a fishing boat. It was already 1:30 in the afternoon and I really hadn’t eaten, so it was just what was needed.P1030039

I have had komla before – again on a Thursday as that seems to be komla day, and quite enjoyed it, although I could have done with more turnip and one less dumpling.  today i got more turnip and only one raspeboller.

And the whole time I ate, I chuckled about passing myself off as a Norwegian and succeeding, at least for a minute or two.  In fact, I’m still chuckling, and with all the confusion surrounding this move to Russia, that is a VERY good thing.

In this

This entry was posted in Norway - the New Adventure. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mistaken For A Native..

  1. I’m no longer positive the place you’re getting your info, but good topic.

    I needs to spend a while learning much more or figuring out
    more. Thank you for wonderful info I was looking for this info for my mission.

Leave a Reply

