Today…

I remember the rain.  Or maybe it remembered me. I’m not sure which.  But it sort of fit the day. It wasn’t a heavy rain, but a mist that you couldn’t really see but made everything wet. Not too cold, but not a day filled with exuberance.

This morning Tomas from the moving company came to do an estimate of our things for the move to Sakhalin.  Part of me is excited about the move, but a big part really isn’t ready to leave Norway.

I went to pick up my new glasses – two pair in new, modern frames.  It seemed fitting that they would be mist-spotted when I walked through downtown and then home. I found a cream pitcher that matches my Norwegian Figgjo tea pot, and an unusual thimble.  Also, one more Norwegian glass candle holder that looks like melting ice.  Not ready to let go, I’m finding small treasure to take with me.

In three weeks, we should be all packed up and maybe even on the plane, or going through Moscow airport on the way to our new, snowier home.  I know I will enjoy it, because I have made up my mind that I will.  That doesn’t mean that I don’t want to come back here again – maybe for a visit, maybe longer.

There are so many photos here still untaken; so many memories still unmade.

This entry was posted in Norway - the New Adventure and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Today…

  1. Brenda Fritzler says:

    Let me know if want a friend or two to go along back to Norway!

  2. Catherine says:

    Just happened upon your blog (while researching bakhoor and seeing your post about touring the Amouage Factory). You’ve made me nostalgic for Stavanger, where we lived for three years, before moving here to Muscat. The Christmas lights at Breivatnet, so lovely. Seems we have some places in common. Thanks for the trip down memory lane and the inspiration to go tour Amouage.

    • Funny how the oil industry (I presume) sends us around the world, isn’t it, Catherine. I hope you are enjoying Muscat and Oman as much as we did. Thanks for dropping by and taking the time to comment. We really hate to be leaving Norway so soon.

Leave a Reply

