Preparing For Christmas

P1020007Christmas is almost here – I lit the fourth Advent candle this morning when I had my breakfast.  And I just realized that I have never before in my entire life had to prepare for Christmas all alone. But I also realized that I had instinctively taken care to incorporate all the rituals of Christmases past as I prepared.  Funny how we take care of ourselves without realizing it.  This Advent has been one of joy and thanksgiving for me, where it could have been a pitiful celebration of loneliness.

This season of preparation did begin on a high note, with my friend coming and helping me buy and decorate my Christmas tree. and buying me the lovely star that has shone in my dining room window all month.  But after she left, I made sure that the tree lights sparkled every day, even if I didn’t always take the time to sit and admire them.  Carols rang out most days on my sound system, an eclectic mix of traditional, modern, and very old, including the Russian Orthodox ones I bought in Egersund.

I’ve sprinkled the house with most of my Christmas treasures – gathered and cherished throughout my life……. the tiny bread dough ornament my son made when he was almost 2 years old, or the three bells he made in school when he was young.P1010988

Many other ornaments have stories as well – the bread dough sheep made by my friend in Regina, who is now struggling with cancer.  A clothes pin reindeer from another friend I have lost touch with. Bead ornaments made by my nieces and nephew in BC.  All the ornaments brought by friends to that tree-trimming party held the first Christmas I was in Kuwait.  The list goes on….. I am blessed with so much history and so many friends who have made my life richer in countless ways.

The nativity set I bought in Moose Jaw Saskatchewan that came with an extra lamb, and has since acquired more sheep and camels of all shapes and sizes.P1010985

My new Norwegian Santas, looking very much like Nordic gnomes, and my Kuwaiti doll, all decked out for Christmas.P1010904P1010899

Tthe new runner given by a Secret Santa back in Canada that compliments my glass angels so beautifully.P1010986

I’ve made cookies as well, even though I don’t need cookies.  But what is Christmas without the lemon balls –P1010978or date pinwheels, my Grandmother’s recipe.  P1010976My cousin was just commenting about how they remind her of her Mother, recently passed away.P1010992

Gingerbread cookies too.  I planned to cut them out in all these wonderful shapes –P1010998

but there was no way to get the dough stiff enough to roll with my food processor, and it was late.  I remember making a batch of these to give to my Father each Christmas – this is the 23rd Christmas without him.  They will taste just as good this way –P1010994

and I will remember him whenever I eat one.

December 23rd – a friend coming in an hour from Kuwait to spend Christmas with me, a carol service tonight in the Stavanger Cathedral, hopefully a chance to talk to David in Russia, and to family in Canada on or around Christmas. We still have some snow for Christmas too, and a bit more predicted to be on the way.P1010917

I have a lot to be thankful for this Christmas – and I’m glad that I realize it.

Merry Christmas to each of you.

This entry was posted in Norway - the New Adventure and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Preparing For Christmas

  1. Evelyn says:

    Your decoration collection is like mine – quite eclectic – each has a special significance either for where it was bought or who gave it to me. We have a ‘skiff’ of snow so may have a ‘white’ Christmas after all.
    Merry Christmas to you and all good wishes for your new adventure. We armchair travellers will be anxious to see what you discover next. I love your photos.

  2. Cecilia magor says:

    I am sure that you and Snoopy will have a ‘Merry Christmas’, Sue will be there too, and she’s very entertaining! We’ll be thinking of you in our much warmer part of the world, mainly because we have a wood burner, loads of wood and NO snow ! Xxxx

  3. Brenda Fritzler says:

    I loved reading this story of your Christmas preparation. The pictures of the ornaments were terrific.Loved them all. Very special memories.Just wished I found this before Christmas, it was an inspirational read. Thank you and God Bless/

  4. Hi! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering
    if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?

    Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

