The Mystery Continues

In September I told you about mystery quilts I have done, and showed you the beginnings of a new one by The Quilt Pattern Magazine online. I used Christmas colours – reds and greens – and a cute white with Christmas cats on it.  The first sewing step was to make a bunch of half square triangles.

November’s instructions came with a challenge.  Rather than assembling those HST’s according to the designer’s directions, we are to play with them and put them anywhere we like.  I am making the smallest version, which is to make two small table toppers, with one 16 square (4 X 4) in the centre of each, and a border around it. This arrangement would leave me with 4 pieces left over for each topper.

Mystery No. 1

Mystery No. 2

I tried arranging and rearranging them last night – and just wasn’t satisfied.

Mystery – Chevron

Before I went to bed (after several rousing rounds of “Words with Friends”), I decided that maybe I would rather make one larger piece instead. I unfortunately didn’t take a photo of the arrangement. I just remember it looking rather dark, like this one.

Mystery – Cross

Mystery – Star

I played with the pieces a bit more this afternoon, and have found a few interesting plans. There are a few more photos in the slide show at the bottom. I’m not sure which one to use, though.  Any suggestions? Please comment and help me out.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Mystery Continues

  1. cuz says:

    wow……….that would be fun……….first I would have to sew the pieces……….and that seems to be a task lately…….I am going to try one of those mystery quilts one day

  2. Connie says:

    I like
    1 – the one that looks like a star in the middle
    2- the darker one that looks like chevrons?!
    Really any are nice.

  3. I’ve added captions, so please let me know which arrangements are your favourites.

  4. Ruth Reid says:

    Kathi I like the ‘chevron’ square. To me it looks more Christmasie.

  5. Paramjeet says:

    Chevron for me too kathi….though they are all nice.

  6. Which Chevron – there are two…. the one with the dark centre?

  7. Cecilia magor says:

    I liked mystery 3 and the chevron with the really dark green pieces , nice project!

  8. LeAnne L says:

    I really like the Mystery Chevron. That’s a real eye-catcher.

Leave a Reply

