The Fairy’s Looking Glass

I’ve always been fascinated with water – I think most of us are.  After all, that’s where we begin our lives.  And we are made up of mainly water.  Without it, we will perish, physically.  I think some of us would perish mentally without it as well.

I grew up in a  valley in the Canadian Prairies.  There was a small creek there – designated on the old maps as an “intermittent stream”.  Once they put a dam on the Saskatchewan River, when I was about 18, there was a lot more water in the creek – and it was muddy instead of clear.  There was a lot of erosion. I didn’t think about that when I was growing up though.  I remember playing in the water on the stone crossing, and watching the fish go upstream in the spring to spawn. And, when ever I had a knotty problem that needed considering – that was where I went.  The sound of the water splashing over the rocks seems to untangle any problem, and present me with a solution – even if it was just to grin and bear it.

It seems that all the rest of my life, I’ve been doing the same thing – reveling in the running stream, or the mirror surface of a quiet pond, or the pitter-patter of raindrops on the roof, or on my upturned face.  The lake near our farm at Govan was a haven of peace – a brief rest from the hectic pace of farming in the summer.

I didn’t get down to the sea very often when we were in Kuwait – and the joy that I found in Muscat when I was within easy walking distance of the ocean was almost tangible. I could sit and watch the breakers roll in for a long, long time. Somehow, the 98% humidity in the air didn’t have the same effect! You can’t hear that.

Walking with a new friend at sunset in Muscat –

Now we are in Norway.  I’m not very close to the sea – to a beach where I could go to sit and daydream.  But we do have rain……. and dew. I always carry a camera with me, and I’ve amassed quite a collection of photos of raindrops – on roses and fences and flowers of all kinds. It’s amazing how the rain drops stay on these geranium leaves – even when all the rest of the plants are dry.

I think of these tiny droplets as the fairy’s looking glasses, for there seems something mystical about them.

Did you see the fairy?  We may have just missed him.

This entry was posted in Norway - the New Adventure. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Fairy’s Looking Glass

  1. Paramjeet says:

    Beautiful and so refreshing ,i so miss the rains here.

  2. Sue says:

    My favorite “dream place” is in a meadow, sitting with my back against a tree next to a bubbling stream. . . love the photos

Leave a Reply

