Like a Breath of Fresh Air

Last night I went to a Norwegian quilt club meeting!  The first quilt meeting since the beginning of December.

Think about the feeling you get when you go into a greenhouse in February (you in cold countries will understand this). The air is alive with life and spring, and I could just stand there with my eyes closed and breath it in.

That is how I felt last night. I’ve been blessed with a group that meets every other week – quilters and knitters, so I haven’t been totally isolated. Interesting women, great conversation.  But there is an electricity in a room of 50 or so women, all working on some handwork project or another, showing quilts they have made or are working on, talking about classes and workshops and retreats.

And I hardly understood what was being said!  I understood a word here and there, but thankfully two ladies, Maryann and Wenche (pronounced Venka) took me under their wings and made sure I knew what was happening.

The doors opened at 7.  I walked the 2 1/2 miles there as David was busy in Stavanger – when I arrived at 7, there were already quite a few eager beavers there. Soon the room was filled with ladies of all ages, stitching and chatting and checking out the wares that a local hobby shop had brought.  The theme was log cabin blocks, and many had brought log cabin quilts and projects they had made. I was a bit shy about taking photos, as no one seemed to be doing that, but the diversity was quite exciting…. wonky log cabins, great colour combinations, intriguing quilting.  One lady had a quilt that her uncle had made a long time ago.  He didn’t have any quilters around to help him – he just wanted to do it, and did it~!

I took a photo of the quilt my sister-in-law and I made for her parents 50th wedding anniversary. When I offered it for display, the lady asked me why I didn’t bring the quit – well, it’s in Canada, and I only heard about the meeting on Tuesday.  Cathy was living in Jakarta at the time we made it, and I sent fabric to her to make half the blocks. When she came to Canada for summer holidays, she visited me in Grande Prairie, and we hand quilted it.  I did the applique and binding.

After another free time session (I got a Norwegian quilting magazine and a bit of fabric for my granddaughter’s “Big Girl” quilt), there was show-and-tell.  again – a wide variety of styles and colours – and things being worked on at the meeting were acceptable to be shown as well.

I took my Snoopy quilt (Who, Me?)… this photo was taken as a participant at the Dubai International Exhibition in 2010.

and the miniature that I did in Kuwait.  I thought that the combination showed what kind of quilter I am – doing both traditional and art quilts. I was happy that they were very well received.  Wonder how the French street scene or the Indian ladies will go over?

This lady had several quilts to show us, all using the log cabin block in some way.  This one had a political theme – the lady in the centre is a Norwegian in traditional dress.  The words mean roughly “Ourselves alone” and are about the tightening up of Norwegian immigration laws.  Notice the viking ships in the borders, and the “Do not enter” signs in the corners. (Sorry for photo quality – camera died and I had to use my phone and crop)

They had a raffle for a variety of small prizes – and I even won something – a roll of template plastic..  it was great practice in understanding numbers in Norwegian….. i did pretty well, too, although Maryann had to prompt me when my own number came up – the twenties in Norwegian are really confusing.

When that was finished, the meeting was over.  I called David – he was just leaving Stavanger, so I started to walk home, and he met me along the way. Even though I was totally pumped and eager to get busy sewing again, I was quite happy to get a ride the last bit – I walked about 7 miles yesterday.

This entry was posted in Norway - the New Adventure, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Like a Breath of Fresh Air

  1. Evelyn says:

    Kathi,
    Isn’t it wonderful that quilting knows no language barriers…and that quilters will walk miles to be with other quilters. I’m off to a small retreat in London, ON today until Sunday – just 10 of us, but I’m looking forward to meeting some of my cyber friends.

    Happy stitching,
    Evelyn

  2. candy says:

    A wonderful opportunity to see what quilters in other places do. It appears that quilting is universal!

  3. brenda says:

    Very nice!

  4. sue says:

    What a wonderful evening. .

  5. intlxpatr says:

    They are so lucky to have YOU! You will be their breath of fresh air!

  6. Cecilia Magor says:

    I am so happy for you, I had a similar experience in a smaller scale , as I spent the day quilting with an Irish quilter, Carol ,yesterday, it was the first time we met, and chatted and quilted and talked quilting like if we have known each other for a long time, So uplifting !
    🙂

  7. jo says:

    Hope they appreciate you and your t alents, they are so lucky to have you and we are so sad to have lost you, you were very much missed on Tuesday and our srwing group.

  8. Hope says:

    Glad you enjoyed it, sounds like fun.keep the blogging

Leave a Reply

