“Curves” in the Park

You’ve seen plenty of photos of the park just down from our house – but I haven’t shown you the “Trimparken” yet.

When I was living in Grande Prairie, Canada, my friend Connie and I went to the ladies gym called “Curves”.  It was a type of circuit training, where you worked on one machine for a bit, then jogged, and then moved onto the next machine in the circle. Now, I’m really NOT a gym person – I would rather do almost anything rather than work out, especially in a sweaty room with loud music blaring.  But the music there wasn’t so bad, and Connie and I kept each other going.  I really miss her and having someone to make me work out.

David has been going to the Elixia gym since we moved to Norway, and he encouraged me to join as well……… uh-uh, it just isn’t going to happen.  If they had a sauna or pool, maybe.

When we moved to the house in Sandnes, I discovered a wonderful alternative.  Outside, not far from my door step, and no membership fee.  So, for almost 2 months, I’ve been walking by the Trimparken, looking at it as I went by, and even stopping to check out the sign.  But I can’t do it with Snoopy, can I?  And if he’s not with me, I always seem to be on a mission.  My husband set me straight on that – it won’t hurt Snoopy to be tied up and wait a few minutes for me.  OK – point taken.

So this morning, I had a better look at the set up.  The first machine really had me baffled….. it’s called a Taiji Push.  I followed the printed directions (in English, would you believe), but it just didn’t seem right, so I checked the rest out, and came home to look it up.  Turns out, it simulates an exercise in Tai Chi, and is very good for the lower joints – something I’m having a bit of a hard time with in this colder weather.

So, here is my plan….. I will try to work out in the Trimparken at least three times a week – although I won’t promise if it is pouring rain.  Lets see if I can put my actions where my words are, and benefit from the thoughtfulness of the park planners in Sandnes.  This country is amazingly in tune with exercise and healthy living – guess I need to join in.

Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Norway - the New Adventure. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Curves” in the Park

  1. Celine says:

    Hi… just discover your blog. We had of those exercise machines in every neighborhood and aparment complex in Beijing. Our kids loved them and it was interesting to see all the old neighbors doing their exercises every day. If you look around my blog of our time in China you might find some pictures. Unfortunately I haven’t updated the one on Norway since last April :-(… I really need to work on it because I really enjoy re-reading about our time in China and it would be nice to have as a keepsake for my childred. Celine (www.cjsuiter.blogspot.com)

  2. Evelyn says:

    what a great idea – I wonder if it would encourage more people to both exercise and get out in the fresh air.
    Evelyn

  3. Melissa says:

    That would be really cool! They need that here, with a kid playground in the same location… Have fun working out 🙂

  4. Connie says:

    I miss us going to Curves too although I am now back to aquasizes. It is always good to have a friend to motivate and encourage you to go. My friend Lil who I go to aquasizes with is away this week and guess where I didn’t go today 🙂
    I have seen equipment something like this in Sidney, BC where my sister lives. It is beside the library in a little park but much like the ones in your pictures I have never seen anyone using them.
    Anyway go for it, it is really interesting that the instructions are in English. Let us know how you make out.

  5. Debbie Tarangul says:

    how cool Kathi! It would be great to have that close to home here…but I couldn’t even imagine the government paying for something like that here. And if it were here, I can just imagine how busy it would be as the gym memberships are outrageous. So my girl…enjoy it fully and keep us posted….because if you ever come back to Canada….you probably won’t find it here…lol.

  6. Becky Peacock says:

    They had these in Germany when I grew up there, although not in very many places yet. We even have one close to us in Jabriya, Kuwait…..well, the equipment could seriously use an overhaul, but people do use it and it’s where we walk fairly regularly. Looking forward to seeing how it works for you (& Snoopy).

Leave a Reply

