Crazy Weather Day.

This was one of those days when you didn’t know just what would happen next – at least with the weather.

It started out with scattered clouds, and about 10 degrees………. and I had some planting to do. But first, Snoopy and I set out for a good long walk – with a stop at the grocery store. The mallards must be sitting on their nests now, as only the males are in the stream.

I saw this bird that looked like a pigeon – but there were two identical…… I’ve never seen two pigeons that had the same markings.  Later on, I saw a third one.  After checking my book, and photos on the internet, I discovered it is a Wood Pigeon (Columba palumbus).

Back home, and outside to plant my three poor heather plants that had waited two weeks for this moment. Next, I transplanted my globe basil seedlings.  My green thumbs have been itching to gat out and into the flower beds.This reminded me so much of the spring I worked in a greenhouse north of Calgary.  It was my dream job. Look at the lovely tulips –Snoopy and I set off again, for the garden centre which is a 10 minute walk away.  I went for herbs… and came back with roses – three miniatures…… and also thyme and lavender. Here they are with the orchid that a friend gave me when she came for dinner.

I love roses – and with the ones in the garden, that makes 14.

Here is the sky when we were returning from the garden centre –

I need cache pots to put my plants in, so I headed off again, alone this time, for Europris.  The forecast said it shouldn’t rain until 2 pm …….. if I hurried I might make it, but the umbrella went into my bag just in case.  In the park again – another lovely colourful bird… Again, between the book and Google, I discovered that I have a very good sighting of a male Chaffinch (Fringilla coelebs)… and he sat obligingly still so I could get a good photo.

No pots, but coffee on for half price, and some sweet little socks for my granddaughter.  A few drops of rain as I was scurrying home…… but look outside by the time I’d hung up my coat –

And a couple of minutes later –

Soon over – and hesitant sunshine again.  It’s only 3:35, so anything could still happen today. Between emptying boxes and cleaning a bit, I’ve lots to keep me inside until nightfall.

This entry was posted in Norway - the New Adventure. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crazy Weather Day.

  1. sue says:

    It was a variable day in Kuwait as well. Started out with some lovely sunshine as we headed to Fintas for Breakfast with CIK. When we returned a couple of hours later the wind was blowing VERY hard. I went to work figuring out the sleeve and the bindings for Spiraling Galaxies and was not at all surprised to see white dust move in. By the time I had it all figured and was almost done sewing the binding, I was cold in the apt, and the dust was lighter, so I turned the AC to warmer. . . and went down stairs to take a quick walk in the warm afternoon. Except it was cooler outside than it was inside. One quick lap around the block and I was back to my now warmer apt.
    No rain or hail here, although it looks like the rain could happen at any minute. . . and the day isnt over yet. . . and I didnt photo journal my day. . .
    The flowers are lovely, especially the roses. But the tulips win my heart every time. Love the colorful little birds. It sounds like you are settling in nicely. It must be nice to have so many stores within walking distance.

  2. kathydrew says:

    I so love your blog. I know I tell you that everytime I post, but it is true. The fact that you walk everywhere you go and always take your camera and allow us to visit the same places. You take the time to enjoy each and every little thing along the way and notice so much. I envy your travels and your opportunities, but am so grateful I am allowed to experience some of those things with your blog.

  3. Hope says:

    thanks for the story and pictures, weather sounds like Saskatchewan weather, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

