Quilting Today

The past couple of days, I’ve been working on the baby quilt for my new granddaughter, who should arrive the beginning of December.  I’m doing fused applique as i want it to be strong enough to handle hundreds of washings.  Kind of slow going, with all the little pieces of the flowers.  A few photos of the patternthe fabics (or some of them)and the proceedings.After having to redo 5 of the 24 blocks because I had the background fabric upside down, I am now ready for the next step – sewing all the pieces in place.  After that, I will use rayon or silk thread in my machine to add all the stems and vines etc., and then I can start to sew the quilt top together.

It will be good to get my machine out tomorrow and sew again – it hasn’t been used since the end of October, before the movers came to pack up the house to move to Canada.

Maybe a touch of sanity to my “boxed in” existence.

 

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quilting Today

  1. cuz says:

    WOW that will be a beauty. Did you dare unpack enuf “stuff” to quilt??? or have you unpacked a bit and are staying there a while yet???
    Cuz Bb

    • Hi Barb – all the stuff for this quilt was in the air shipment, which I unpacked as soon as it was evident that we were going to be here for a while. I figured that was what I would be working on in Calgary while we were waiting for our shipment, and the new granddaughter. Just hooked up the sewing machine to try out ways to do the stitching around the applique pieces. That should keep me busy for a day or two. I loved the patern when i found it, but didn’t have a reason to make it before this.

  2. Hope says:

    pretty pattern, looks good what you have done, how far along are you now?
    keep quilting!

Leave a Reply

