So Much to Do!

I have a lot to do today.  the nice thing about having a dog is that, however much your day is filled, you CANNOT put off taking a walk, especially if you don’t have a yard for him to play in and do what dogs need to do.

We went to the beach this morning…. haven’t been down there since Thursday.  It’s getting pretty warm now current temp 34C with 52% humidity…. and I’m sure it will get to 40 unless it clouds over.  In the afternoon, I can’t walk barefoot outside because the shine brown tile on the step is too hot.  It would be nice to be able to go at 5 am when the sun is just rising, but when we do the beach, we usually are out for 1 1/2 hours, and I need to be home to make breakfast and get David off to work with a hug….. so we go at 6:45.

There was a lot of seaweed on the beach this morning – I wish I knew what is happening in the water to bring in sea weed, or lots of shells, or pile sand up or wash it back into the sea. Not many shells, although I was stopped by this tiny one sitting full of water… don’t think I’ve seen that before.

 

The dark sand must have a high clay content, for when you walk in the water, you end up with a ball of clay stuck into your instep.  Feels weird.  But the water is cool, and the sound is so mesmerizing.

Anyway, when we arrived back at the car, my pant legs were wet, I had sweat running down my back and my nose…… and I was so mentally relaxed that none of the little aches and pains that kept me awake last night mattered any more.

Now, showered and plants watered, I am ready to start the quilting part of my day.  I’m taking a class through Quilt University entitled “Inspired to Design” with Elizabeth Barton.  I’m behind, but working on it.  We are beginning with a photo, mine – a street in Riez, France, making a sketch of it, and then through various exercises, manipulating it or parts of it to trigger new ideas and designs.  Here is my photo, and copy of it…… there is too much detail in my copy, but I love all the shutters, and really didn’t know what to leave out. Now that I am beginning to to play with it, I’m seeing what might be eliminated.

Next, I cut a copy of my drawing into strips and juggled them around to see what happened.  I did two – and am beginning to see the possibilities for leaving pieces out and bending the lines to get a different feeling. Next, I will try to crop out areas with interesting lines and shapes, and see what I can come up with.

I have lots more exercises to work through this week….. and will try to  spend time each day so I’m ready for Lesson 3 when it arrives Friday.

And I am embroidering butterflies on Isabelle’s quilt – here is the first one.  I just used my applique foot on it, but will change to the free-motion foot so I can go all around without having to turn the quilt.  I am using a fine metallic thread with a few other colours besides gold – it really works well.  I will go around one more time, I think, to define the edges, and also to secure them better.

I’ll let you know tomorrow how I do.

This entry was posted in Quilting, Scenes of Oman. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to So Much to Do!

  1. Tami says:

    What you did with that picture is very cool! I may borrow your idea for my portfolio presentation…Not sure how yet, but I’m inspired!

  2. Becky Peacock says:

    I love reading your blog, Kathi! I think I need a “beach day” soon, although mine will become a “grandbaby day” instead, as I’m flying tonight to Calgary to be with my son & his wife for the birth of their second son.

    That class you’re taking is one I have on my list as well. Sounds like a lot of fun. Will be interested to see what you do with it.

    Love the butterflies!!! 🙂

  3. banyantreequilts says:

    You have nice blog Kathy. your postings are interesting

  4. cuz says:

    Hello…………that class looks very interesting but a way too advanced for me………..I would be totally lost….I am anxious to see the quilt that comes from all of that….
    My quilting has been put aside till the yard work is caught up. We have been getting so much rain that we may have to bale the yard soon. ENJOY your class.
    Barb

  5. Audrey says:

    I love your photos, especially the seaweed on the beach picture. I’d like to use it as the inspiration for a beachy quilt that I dream of making. May I use your photo?
    Audrey

Leave a Reply

