Kuwait Textile Arts Exhibition 2011

Wow is all I can say!  I am constantly amazed at the new heights the quilters and other textile artist here attain.  This is the best group I know for pushing themselves and others to new limits. The colours, techniques, artistry and precision exhibited in the quilts, bags, embroideries and weaving makes this a show not to miss.

I had a wonderful morning, looking at the quilts, and visiting with my good friends here.  I’m looking forward to seeing them again tomorrow.

The show opened Wednesday night.  I would not have wanted to be one of the judges this year.  They really had to know their art… both technically and artistically, and judging from the comments on my forms, they do. Congratulations to all the winners…… a job very well done.

Here are just a few of the quilts..

Shyamala with “Mabrook Kuwait” – Best of Show, Two Judges Choice awards, First Place in Machine Embroidery

Sharon  (my fabric shopping buddy) – 1st place in applique – Paramjeet – another incredible feat of colour, texture, balance and free-motion thread painting.Just look at these birds…… not done by computer.Precision piecing and unerring colour choice in Becky’s Scrappy Stars.Maryam’s Bread Sellers of Sana’a.Najeeba’s “Walk in the Rain” just look at the colours here.Here am I with my applique quilt, which won a Highly Commended.

I could go on and show every one of the 145 entries….. but here are just a few..I’ll just let you sample some of the other treasures that are displayed.  Today is the last day.  Take down is tomorrow morning, and then there is a luncheon and lecture from Tracy Pereira on quilting design.

Ladies – a job well done.    How on earth will you top it next year?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Scenes of Oman. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kuwait Textile Arts Exhibition 2011

  1. Brenda Fritzler says:

    Kathi, Thank you so much for sharing. I am going to show this site to the Govan Sew n /Sews. I loved the unique varieties of ideas. Wow.

    • Chris Plowman says:

      Thank you, Thank you Kathi. How I miss this group. I wish I could have joined you on your visit but it clashed with another trip to the UK. Give everyone my best wishes and look forward to seeing them take prizes in Dubai 2012….

  2. cuz says:

    WOW ….those are wonderful……quite diff from the quilts you would see here in a show………I loved the colors in yours!!!!!!!!! Thanx for sharing….
    Bb

  3. Johanna Dishongh says:

    Seeing these photos gives me that empty feeling in my chest. I truly miss my Kuwait quilt group – I don’t expect to ever be in the company of so many talented women in one place again.

  4. Tammy says:

    My husband and I went to the quilt show on Friday. I am always amazed by the pieces that are created and especially love the mini quilts that depict scenes, like Maryam’s bread sellers. My husband’s favorite was Walk in the Rain. I don’t even remember some of the quilts you posted. Your applique quilt is certainly worthy of mentioning. 🙂 It is so easy to get distracted by all the beautiful pieces on display. I love the baby quilt you have made and the fact that you have incorporated so many personal details in it. A perfect gift indeed. Hope you are enjoying your visit. I hope to get to Oman one day for a visit. Best wishes, Tammy

Leave a Reply

