Today’s post….

is all about today… thoughts and the little bits that have been going on here, instead of a travelogue of Oman.

I’ve been getting a lot of comments about the quilt I sent to Dubai for their mini-exhibition. I wasn’t able to attend, but David’s cousins were there and took photos for me of all the quilts, including mine.  It does look much better hung properly on a wall, instead of spread out on the floor.  I’m also told that it was one of the few quilts that really hung properly, without ripples.  Guess I’m learning to get it right.

Anyway, here is a photo of the quilt in the show, taken by Dawn Ewen’s camera, and featuring her and Colleen.

The past week, I’ve been hard at work getting ready for my trip to France, to visit Corinne, a dear friend I met in Kuwait.  I had the opportunity to visit once before, in November 2009, and I’ve been dying to go back ever since.  I’m so lucky to have a husband who encourages me to do things like this, and who knows how important it is to spend time with like-minded friends.

I’ve been busy getting some handwork ready for my trip – finally found a pattern I want to do, while I wait to get my own design worked out.  Here are the first four blocks, all set to go.  The squares are just stuck on… they will be leaves, but can’t be basted on until the stems are done.  There are also 5 similar blocks with red stars…. set in a 9-patch arrangement.  I have some Hawaiian-style applique ready to teach Corinne’s friends while I’m there as well.

When I was in Riez last time, I was quite surprised, and please, to find that so much of the French I learned in school and  university so long ago came back.  I’d never really had anyone to speak French with before.  Still, I was quite unused to hearing it spoken, and often had a deer-in-the-headlights feeling when anyone spoke t me, although afterward, I could often make out what had been said.  This time, I vowed to be better prepared, and with the help of my lovely new iPhone, I set out to do just that.  Wow – if I’d known about podcasts before, I would have killed for an iPod….. I thought they were just for music.  I’ve samples several different ones, and have come up with a winner, I think….. Coffee Break French. Instead of just learning words and random phrases, it really teaches you to deal with common situations.  They have extras you can pay for, and I think they would be really valuable, but as I was looking for more oral French than written, having a fairly good background in written French, I opted to just do the free podcasts.

They have a lot of different languages as well… under RadioLingua.com, so if anyone is looking to learn a language, or brush up on one, I’d really recommend checking them out.  I’ve been going over the first 40 lessons, which make up the first year of studies, and have learned so much.

Snoopy and I went for a long walk on the beach this morning. The tide was far out, and the sea was very quiet.  What a relaxing way to spend two hours…. except that Snoopy broke his leash and I had to tie it together…. and he had to make do with 6 feet of roaming room, instead of 15.

I’m constantly amazed at how the beach changes.  The boat ramp that was once totally covered by sand….. and then uncovered again, has undergone a further transformation…. more sand has been moved out so it is down to the rocks underneath.  The plastic traffic barrier that was once under almost 2 feet of sand is now sitting half uncovered.  There were some very interesting snail trails in the sand….. and I found a very large shell, half buried among the stones.  The dog leash beside it (about hand size) gives you an idea of the scale.

When we returned home, relaxed and very thirsty, I finally finished the table runner that has been haunting me on the quilting frame for three weeks.  I wasn’t sure what to do in the inside bit, but once I got started, the ideas just flowed.  I love my little Bailey and Bernina frame – and once I return home, I have so many tops that need to be quilted….

That’s about it… I have laundry and cleaning etc. to do here before I leave David and the animals alone for almost 2 weeks.  So, next time you hear from me, it will be from Provence, where, I understand, il fait du soleil, mais, pour moi, il fera froid.  Until then….. a bientot!

This entry was posted in Quilting, Scenes of Oman. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Today’s post….

  1. cuz says:

    Wow your quilting is beautiful. I will prob be doing a bit in the next few weeks as I am going to have my knee replaced on Tues…so will have lots of sitting time…………will try to send you a pic of my music hanging later.
    I think I understood your en francais at the end of this blog.
    Have fun
    Bb

Leave a Reply

